Goal & Topics

The Alferov Forum “Physics of Micro- and Nanosystems” (AFMNSP'2020, afmnsp.ru) is dedicated to the 90th birthday of academician Zhores Ivanovich Alferov, Nobel Prize Winner in Physics in 2000, an outstanding Russian scientist, teacher and public figure.

The forum will be held in St. Petersburg from March 15 to 18 at the Ioffe Institute, Alferov University, Peter the Great St. Petersburg Polytechnic University, ETU "LETI", St.Petersburg RC RAS. These are the organizations of St. Petersburg, which are connected closely with the life and activity of Zh.I. Alferov. He gave 50 years for working at the Ioffe Institute and headed it 15 years as a Director (1987-2003), 15 years he run the St. Petersburg Academic University founded by him, with the Lyceum Physical-Technical School, which now both are named after him. He established a unique department of optoelectronics in his native St. Petersburg State Electrotechnical University "LETI", as well as the Physics and Technology Department at the Peter the Great Polytechnic University, which trained several hundred high-class physicists and technologists who joined the Ioffe Institute and many leading research centers around the world. Many years Zh.I. Alferov led the St. Petersburg Research Center of the Russian Academy of Sciences.

In March 1st, 2019, Zh.I. Alferov passed away, and the organized Forum is a tribute of deep respect and memory to our common Teacher, Inspirer, and Creator. That is why all the organizations mentioned above take part in the organization of the Forum, as well as the Committee on Science and Higher Education of the St. Petersburg Government. The forum is attended by his colleagues in the club of Nobel laureates, leading foreign and Russian scientists in the field – co-workers, rivals, students, colleagues and friends, all those in whose destinies, scientific interests and hearts he left an indelible mark.

Three main scientific areas are included in the Forum Program, which reflect the amplitude of scientific interests of this great scientist:

The Forum includes a Plenary session and seven scientific sessions (3 Plenary sessions and 4 sessions of Invited talks), each of which addresses the most important contemporary problems of physics, technology, physiology and medicine in connection with the history and personality of the person who had dedicated his life to their development and promotion at various stages of his life. Semiconductor heterostructure optoelectronics and nanophotonics, laser physics, optical telecommunications, high-power microwave electronics, semiconductor material science and epitaxial technologies, solar energy - these are the main directions of his activity, which will be reflected in the participants' talks. And also his last interests, closely linked with the use of new physical methods, are bionanotechnology, high-tech healthcare, the creation of new genetic technologies, innovative drugs, including immunobiological, biomedical cell products, and new drug delivery systems in the human body.

Within the framework of the Forum, in addition to the sessions of oral presentations (March 16-17), it is planned to hold 4 sessions of poster presentations of young scientists on the topics of the Forum in the institutions co-organizing the Forum (March 17-18): Ioffe Institute, Alferov University, Peter the Great St. Petersburg Polytechnic University, ETU "LETI", approximately 20 papers at each session.

Цель и тематики

Алферовский Форум “Физика микро- и наносистем” (Alferov Forum “Micro and Nanosystems Physics” – AFMNSP’2020, afmnsp.ru) посвящен 90-летию со дня рождения академика Жореса Ивановича Алферова Нобелевского лауреата по физике 2000 г., выдающегося российского ученого, педагога и общественного деятеля.

Форум пройдет в Санкт-Петербурге с 15 по 18 марта в ФТИ им. А.Ф. Иоффе, СПбАУ РАН им. Ж.И. Алферова, СПбПУ, СПбГЭТУ «ЛЭТИ», СПбНЦ РАН. Именно с этими организациями Санкт-Петербурга тесно связана жизнь и деятельность Ж.И. Алферова. Он отдал 50 лет работе в ФТИ им. А.Ф. Иоффе, из которых 15 лет был его директором (1987-2003 гг.), 15 лет руководил созданным им Санкт-Петербургским Академическим университетом с Физико-технической школой, которые носят теперь его имя. Он создал уникальную в своем роде кафедру оптоэлектроники в стенах своей Альма-матер – Санкт-Петербургского государственного электротехнического университета «ЛЭТИ», а также Физико-технический факультет в Политехническом университете Петра Великого, которые подготовили несколько сотен высококлассных физиков и технологов, пополнивших ряды Физтеха и многих ведущих исследовательских центров по всему миру. Много лет Ж.И. Алферов руководил С.-Петербургским научным центром РАН.

В марте 2019 г. Ж.И. Алферов ушел от нас, и организуемый Форум – это дань глубокого уважения и памяти о нашем общем Учителе, Вдохновителе и Строителе. Именно поэтому в организации Форума принимают участие все упомянутые организации, а также Комитет по науке и высшей школе Правительства С.-Петербурга. В Форуме принимают участие его коллеги по клубу Нобелевских лауреатов, ведущие зарубежные и российские ученые – соратники, соперники, ученики, коллеги и друзья, все те, в чьих судьбах, научных интересах и сердцах он оставил неизгладимый след.

Три основных научных направления включены в программу Форума, которые отражают широту научных интересов этого большого ученого:

Форум состоит из Пленарного заседания и семи научных сеccий (3 пленарных сессии и 4 сессии приглашенных докладов), в каждой из которых рассматриваются важнейшие современные проблемы физики, технологии, физиологии и медицины в их связи с историей и личностью человека, посвятившего свою жизнь их развитию и продвижению на различных этапах своей жизни. Полупроводниковая гетероструктурная оптоэлектроника и нанофотоника, лазерная физика, оптические телекоммуникации, электроника, мощная силовая СВЧ-техника, полупроводниковое материаловедение и эпитаксиальные технологии, солнечная энергетика - вот основные направления его деятельности, которые будут отражены в докладах участников. А также его последнее увлечение, неразрывно связанное с использованием новых физических методов, – бионанотехнология, высокотехнологичное здравоохранение, создание новых генетических технологий, инновационных лекарственных препаратов, в том числе иммунобиологических, биомедицинских клеточных продуктов, новых систем доставки лекарственных средств в организме человека.

В рамках Форума помимо сессий устных докладов (16-17 марта) планируется провести 4 сессии стендовых докладов молодых ученых по тематикам Форума в организациях со-организаторах Форума (17-18 марта): ФТИ им. А.Ф. Иоффе, СПбАУ РАН им. Ж.И. Алферова, СПбПУ, СПбГЭТУ «ЛЭТИ», ориентировочно по 20 докладов на каждой сессии.